Note: This is a temporary page. The links to the databases in the list are active, but the subject categories are not. Thanks for bearing with us while we update this webpage. 

Information and Research Databases

Alphabetical list or select by Category below:

Business/Investment    Consumer Interest   Download/Streaming     Encyclopedias     Genealogy     Health     Homework Help    Literature    Newspapers/Magazines     Telephone Directory     Science     Test Prep 

Most available remotely to Wilmette and Kenilworth residents with a  library card.

Database

Category

Available remotely ?

Ancestry Library Edition Genealogy

No

AskArt - see Librarian for access Consumer Interest

No

Business Resource Gateway Business/Investment

Yes

Business Insights: Global Business/Investment
Homework Help

Yes

Chicago Tribune 1985 - Newspaper/Magazine

Yes

Chicago Tribune Historical 1849-1986 Newspaper/Magazine

Yes

Children's Literature Database Homework Help
Literature

Yes

Children's Literature Database (within the Library) Literature

No

Consumer Reports and Cars Best Deal Plus Consumer Interest
Health

Yes

Consumers' Checkbook Consumer Interest
Business/Investment

No

Consumers' Checkbook - remote users Consumer Interest
Business/Investment

Yes

CultureGrams Homework Help
Encyclopedia

Yes

Encyclopedia Britannica Encyclopedia
Homework Help

Yes

Facts On File Homework Help

Yes

Facts on File: Issues and Controversies Homework Help

Yes

Facts on File: Today's Science Homework Help
Science

Yes

Facts On File: World News Digest Homework Help

Yes

FindMyPast Genealogy

No

FirstSearch (call Ref Desk for login) Newspaper/Magazine
Homework Help
Health

Yes

Gale Courses Test Prep
Homework Help

Yes

Gale Directory Library Business/Investment

Yes

GreenFILE Newspaper/Magazine 
Health
Homework Help

Yes

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia Homework Help
Encyclopedia
Science

Yes

Heritage Quest Online Genealogy

Yes

Hoopla Digital Download/Streaming

Yes

Infotrac Magazine Articles Homework Help
Literature
Newspaper/Magazine

Yes

JobNow Business/Investment
Test Prep

Yes

Legal Forms Business/Investment
Consumer Interest

Yes

LexisNexis (Legal cases not available remotely) Business/Investment

Yes

LexisNexis (within the library) Business/Investment

No

Literary Sources (Gale Artemis) Homework Help
Literature

Yes

Literature Resource Center Homework Help
Literature

Yes

Live Homework Help - Brainfuse Homework Help
Test Prep

Yes

Lynda.com Business/Investment
Test Prep
Homework Help

Yes

Mango Languages Homework Help
Test Prep

Yes

Magill's Medical Guide Health
Encyclopedia

Yes

Medline (call Ref Desk for login) Health

Yes

Mergent Archives Business/Investment

Yes

Mergent Intellect Business/Investment
Telephone Directory

Yes

Morningstar (In the Library) Business/Investment

No

Morningstar (Remote Access) Business/Investment

Yes

MUZZY Language Learning Homework Help

Yes

MUZZY Language Learning (within the library) Homework Help

No

MyMediaMall Download/Streaming

Yes

New York Times (1980 to present) Newspaper/Magazine
Homework Help

Yes

New York Times Historical (1851-2003) Newspaper/Magazine
Literature
Homework Help

Yes

Newspapers.com Genealogy
Newspapers/Magazines

Yes

Niche Academy Download/Streaming
Newspapers/Magazines

Yes

Novelist Plus Literature

Yes

OneClick Digital (Recorded Books) Download/Streaming

Yes

Oxford English Dictionary Homework Help

Yes

PebbleGo Homework Help
Encyclopedias

Yes

PebbleGo Next Homework Help
Encyclopedias

Yes

Press Display Around the World Newspaper/Magazine

Yes

Proquest News and Magazines Newspaper/Magazine

Yes

Readers Guide to Periodical Literature 1890-1982 Newspaper/Magazine
Homework Help
Literature

Yes

Reference Books Online (Gale Virtual Ref Lib) Homework Help
Health
Business/Investment

Yes

Reference USA Telephone listings Business/Investment
Telephone Directory

Yes

Salem Press Encyclopedias Homework Help
Encyclopedia
Science

Yes

S&P Net Advantage Business/Investment

Yes

Small Business Resources Business/Investment

Yes

Tumblebooks Download/Streaming

Yes

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) Newspaper/Magazine
Business/Investment

Yes

Weiss Ratings Business/Investment

Yes

Wilmette Life & Wilmette Beacon, 2008-2015 Newspaper/Magazine

No

Wilmette Local History & Genealogy Resources Genealogy
Homework Help
Newspaper/Magazine

Yes

Wilmette Local Newspapers Newspaper/Magazine
Genealogy

Yes

World Almanac for Kids Homework Help
Encyclopedia

Yes

World Book Kids Homework Help

Yes

World Book Online Reference Center Encyclopedia
Homework Help

Yes

Zinio Newspaper/Magazine
Download/Streaming

Yes

Go to top