HomeResearchA-Z DatabasesDatabase Category

Databases at WPL

American Decades   [Available remotely]
American Decades is a cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, and general researchers who need a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history. Encompassing 20th-century events and social history between 1900 and 1999, each volume is devoted to an individual decade, and is organized by subject (Arts, Government, Science and Technology, etc.). Each subject area includes an overview and chronology, "People in the News" and "Publications" lists, extensive photographs and illustrations, and a bibliography of additional reference sources. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Ancestry Library Edition   [Not available remotely]
Ancestry Library Edition has a wide variety of databases to help the family researcher including: Images of all available U.S. Censuses, most with indexes for easier searching Military service databases, such as the Civil War Pension Index; The Immigrant and Passenger List for one of the largest collections of immigration information; The Social Security Death Index which covers relatives that lived and died in the 20th century. AncestryPlus also contains a wide variety of other sources such as city directories, published histories of families and counties, old birth and death records, plus much, much more. AncestryPlus is also expanding into foreign country records. (Available from within the library only.)

AskArt - see Librarian for access   [Not available remotely]
AskART is an online database containing over 270,000 artists. Offers extensive biographical information about artists as well as book and periodical references, along with international auction records and images. Over 7,400 museums and dealers are also referenced.

Business e-resources   [Available remotely]

Business Insights, Global (formerly Business Resource Ctr)   [Available remotely]
Research and analyze companies, industries, and economies around the world.

Chicago Tribune 1985 -   [Available remotely]
Compete full-text content of local and regional news from 1985 to present. Search using keywords from the article. May limit by date, section, etc. Results may be printed out or e-mailed to another location. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Chicago Tribune Historical 1849-1986   [Available remotely]
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text for 1849-1986. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Children's Literature Database   [Available remotely]
Up-to-date access to the children's literature reviews including award winners. Advanced search functions help the user find appropriate children's literature.

Children's Literature Database (within the Library)   [Not available remotely]

Consumer Reports and Cars Best Deal Plus   [Available remotely]
Features ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel. Also provided are product buying guides, blogs, safety alerts, recalls, and much more.

Consumers' Checkbook   [Not available remotely]
Nonprofit Consumers CHECKBOOK reveals the Chicago area's service companies and stores rated Best (& Worst) for quality and prices.

Consumers' Checkbook - remote users   [Available remotely]
Remote users will need to register to use this service which rates local businesses and service providers.

CultureGrams   [Available remotely]
The CultureGrams World Edition is a concise reference tool created by natives and long-time residents to give you an insider’s perspective. Its information ranges from mile-high views of a nation, its society, and institutions to close-up views of communities, families, and individuals.

Dictionary of American History   [Available remotely]
Consisting of eight separate volumes containing 4,434 individual entries, 1,200 photographs and 252 maps, plus two additional volumes containing primary sources and a learning guide, the Dictionary of American History provides the student or researcher with extensive and substantive information on every aspect of the American past. Each entry includes hyperlinked cross-references, "see also" sources and a short bibliography. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Encyclopedia Britannica   [Available remotely]
Encyclopedia Britannica Online offers the comprehensive and authoritative full text of the print volumes with added content (current magazines, recommended web content, multimedia, dictionary and thesaurus) with powerful finding tools, such as keyword search and browsable index, entry and subject links.

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History   [Available remotely]
This online version of the 5-volume set covers all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces -many by the foremost scholars in the field - it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to fully define in one source the cultural roots and current condition of the African-American community. Appendix material includes primary source documents and extensive statistical data. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Encyclopedia of Global Warming (Salem Press)   [Available remotely]
The Encyclopedia of Global Warming provides searchable and browsable access to the full content of the three volume text edition.

Facts On File   [Available remotely]
The electronic version of a trusted library resource. Short, factual information about events in the news from 1940 through the present may be searched by keyword or date. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Facts On File World News Digest   [Available remotely]
The electronic version of a trusted library resource. Short, factual information about events in the news from 1940 through the present may be searched by keyword or date. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

FirstSearch (call Ref Desk for login)   [Available remotely]
Several databases of academic and general interest articles as well as the OCLC network of library holdings across the country. Includes Worldcat, ABI-Inform, ArticleFirst, ERIC, GPO, Medline and much more. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number. Call the reference desk for login instructions).

Gale Directory Library   [Available remotely]
Gale Directory Library includes Brands and Their Companies and Encyclopedia of Associations

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia   [Available remotely]
One of the most thorough reference works on animals ever published, Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia offers articles about animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. Starting with the simplest life forms, the lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes, in volume 1, the series progresses through the more complex classes of animals, culminating with the mammals in volumes 12–16. Volume 17 is a stand-alone cumulative index. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Heritage Quest Online   [Available remotely]
HeritageQuest is a genealogical tool that contains several databases. Complete U.S. Federal Census, 1790-1930 including the page images and corresponding indexes for the entire census, 1790-1930, the PERiodical Source Index, a comprehensive subject index covering more than 6,500 genealogy and local history periodicals written in English and French (Canada) since 1800 and ProQuest's Genealogy & Local History Collection of 25,000+ family and local history books, every word searchable. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

History Resources Salem Press   [Available remotely]
This database contains the Salem Press publications entitled The Decades series and Musicians & Composers of the 20th Century.

Infotrac Magazine Articles   [Available remotely]
Index to general interest magazines, reference books, maps, historical images, and newspaper articles. The full-text of many of the periodical articles is available online and may be printed out or emailed to another location. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Islamic Studies - Oxford U. Press   [Not available remotely]
Encompassing over 5,000 A to Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam.

Issues and Controversies   [Available remotely]
Includes information needed for examining all sides of over 250 issues. Includes narrative discussions, charts, source documents, and contact lists. (From Facts On File) Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette library card number).

JobNow   [Available remotely]
JobNow provides you with practical tools to help you get a job. This product offers three services to choose from 1. Career Resources, 2. Resume Builder 3. Ace the Interview: Featuring an Interview Coach service, this section provides resources to help you prepare for your interview. Get Live Interview Coaching: Connect with one of the live interview coaches to brush up on your interview skills from 2-11 pm daily; some holiday exceptions.

LearningExpress   [Available remotely]
LearningExpress Library provides comprehensive test preparation, skills improvement resources, and career guidance for elementary students to adult learners. Each of the Library's Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Over 770 online practice tests and interactive skill-building tutorials are available, along with more than 130 eBook titles-all developed by expert academic and industry professionals.

Legal Forms   [Available remotely]
Provides a wide selection of state-specific legal forms across popular legal areas inluding real estate, wills, pre-marital agreements, divorce, bankruptcy, landlord tenant and many others. Also includes an attorney state directory and a legal dictionary.

LexisNexis (Legal cases not available remotely)   [Available remotely]
Respected wide-ranging information source containing over 10,000 news, business, legal, and other sources; legal content only available from within library.

LexisNexis (within the library)   [Not available remotely]
Respected wide-ranging information source containing over 10,000 news, business, legal, and other sources; legal content only available from within library.

Literature Resource Center   [Available remotely]
Search for information in magazines or reference books about authors or specific works. Reference books indexed include Contemporary Authors and the Literary Criticism series of the Gale publishing company. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Live Homework Help - Brainfuse   [Available remotely]
Provides real-time access to a live tutor, offering homework help in all academic categories. Features include live chat, a whiteboard for collaborative learning, and file-sharing. Available 7 days per week from 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm.

Lynda.com   [Not available remotely]
Over 2,000 online video training modules covering topics ranging from digital literacy to professional development. Available only in the Library; see a Librarian for details.

Mango Languages   [Available remotely]
Mango is an online language-learning system that teaches actual conversation skills for 36 different languages including English.

Medical Guide Magill's   [Available remotely]
The online version of Magill's Medical Guide provides searchable and browsable access to the complete contents of the 4-volume print version.

Medline (call Ref Desk for login)   [Available remotely]
Index with abstracts to thousands of articles from medical journals. Library and remote access (contact library for login and password).

Mergent Web Reports   [Available remotely]
Mergent Web Reports offers a vast archive of corporate annual, quarterly and interim reports from over 100 countries. Users are able to access an unparalleled collection of digital images of company documents. Web Reports provides the ability to search documents by company name, region, country, document type or year of report. Call the WPL Reference desk for login instrctions.

Morningstar (In the Library)   [Not available remotely]
Rates stocks and funds. Research current or prospective holdings and see how investments fit together. Remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Morningstar (Remote Access)   [Available remotely]
Rates stocks and funds. Research current or prospective holdings and see how investments fit together. Remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Musicians & Composers of the 20th Century   [Available remotely]
Musicians & Composers of the 20th Century offers in-depth biographical and critical essays on those men and women who made an enduring impact on music from 1901 to 2000. Covering more than 600 musical artists in detailed essays ranging from three to five pages in length, this resources provides a valuable entry point for students seeking the basics on musicians in all genres worldwide.

MUZZY Language Learning   [Available remotely]
This award-winning, child-oriented language program features interactive language learning games and activities in eight languages: English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Mandarin Chinese, Portuguese, and Russian.

MUZZY Language Learning (within the library)   [Not available remotely]
This award-winning, child-oriented language program features interactive language learning games and activities in eight languages: English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Mandarin Chinese, Portuguese, and Russian.

MyMediaMall   [Available remotely]
MyMediaMall is a collection of downloadable ebooks and audiobooks. Books can be downloaded to a number of devices including Apple and Amazon Kindle devices/apps.

New York Times (1980 to present)   [Available remotely]
Comprehensive digital, full text coverage back to 1980 including New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine. The NYT is considered the official U.S. newspaper of record because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences.

New York Times Historical (1851-2003)   [Available remotely]
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text for 1851-2003. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Novelist Plus   [Available remotely]
Provides a way to explore fiction and nonfiction books online. Search for books by author, title, main character, or genre type. See what authors write in a style similar to one you've already read. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

OneClick Digital (Recorded Books)   [Available remotely]
Downloadable Audiobooks from the Recorded Books collection of titles that can be downloaded to computers and mobile devices.

Oxford English Dictionary   [Available remotely]
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

PebbleGo   [Available remotely]
An encyclopedia with audio options, especially for emergent readers

Poetry and Poets - Critical Surveys   [Available remotely]
This database is a collection of critical surveys from Salem Press of poets from the United States and around the world.

Press Display Around the World   [Not available remotely]
2,000 plus newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 different languages all available on your mobile device from within the library

Proquest News and Magazines   [Available remotely]
Indexes the contents of popular magazines and Midwest area newspapers. Newspaper content is for 3 years only. The full-text of many of the articles is available to be printed locally or sent to an e-mail address. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Readers Guide to Periodical Literature 1890-1982   [Available remotely]
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Current coverage for this database includes the years 1890 through 1982.

Reference Books Online (Gale Virtual Ref Lib)   [Available remotely]
A one-stop resource providing federated access to encyclopedias and specialized reference tools for multidisciplinary research. Includes access to hundreds of general reference titles once available only within the library.

Reference USA Telephone listings   [Available remotely]
Contains information on over 13 million U.S. businesses ( and 1 million Canadian businesses) including sales, number of employees, and contact information. Also includes U. S. and Canadian residential listings and a "health care" search for doctors and dentists. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

S&P Net Advantage   [Available remotely]
A comprehensive source of business and investment information from Standard and Poor's offering online access to popular research products including stock reports, The Outlook, bond reports, etc.

Small Business Resources   [Available remotely]
Articles and books that are useful for small businesses.

The Solar System   [Available remotely]
The Solar System provides essential coverage of all major aspects of Earth's solar system, from every feature of the major planets to their satellites, small bodies, interplanetary phenomena, and cosmological context. Coverage is presented in an A-Z format, and is supplemented by more than two hundred photos. For those wishing instant access to essays grouped by planetary system, a Category Index appears in the front of every volume.

Today's Science   [Available remotely]
Compiled especially for students, Today's Science provides comprehensive keyword-searchable access to authoritative and up-to-date articles on science-related topics.

Tumblebooks   [Available remotely]
TumbleBooks are animated, talking e-books for kids. They're especially great for pre-readers, emerging readers, and English language learners.

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)   [Available remotely]
Full-text searching and retrieval of the past 3 years is a part of the Proquest service. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Weiss Ratings   [Available remotely]
Weiss provides financial strength ratings and financial planning tools covering Insurance, Banks, and Credit Unions with accurate, independent information.

Wilmette History   [Available remotely]
The Wilmette Public Library history site contains photographs, books, letters, newspapers and oral histories about the village of Wilmette and New Trier Township in Cook County, Illinois, U.S.A.

Wilmette Life Index   [Available remotely]
Index to the local newspaper. Some full text obituaries in the index. Coverage: News 1991-present; Obituaries 1969-2012; Local News 1989-1916; Lake Shore News 1912-1923; Wilmette Life 1923-1939. (Library and remote access.)

Wilmette Life, Wilmette Beacon, and Northshore Weekend, 2008-2014   [Not available remotely]
Available within the Library. Local newspapers, full text and searchable.

World Almanac for Kids   [Available remotely]
Resources for homework, reports, and projects. Kids can explore grade-appropriate topics in a fun format while developing online research skills with a trusted source.

World Book Kids   [Available remotely]

World Book Online Reference Center   [Available remotely]
The premier online reference source, containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more and also offers state-of-the art multimedia, editor-reviewed Web sites, access to additional libraries on U.S. History, Political Science and Law, Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (World Book's intermediate Spanish-language encyclopedia), the online World Book Dictionary, and comprehensive sound clip, picture and illustration archives. (Library and remote access.)

Zinio   [Available remotely]
View full color, cover-to-cover selection of popular magazines. Download to your computer or mobile device.

 

tabs s db qa

 

Go to top