pinterest-20pxgoodreads

 1242 Wilmette Ave., Wilmette, Illinois 60091  â€¢  847-256-5025

Mon - Fri: 9 am - 9 pm

Sat:  9 am - 5 pm

Sun:  1 pm - 9 pm

Home Research A-Z Databases Database Category

Business/Investment Databases at WPL

Business e-resources   [Available remotely]

Business Insights, Global (formerly Business Resource Ctr)   [Available remotely]
Research and analyze companies, industries, and economies around the world.

Consumers' Checkbook   [Not available remotely]
Nonprofit Consumers CHECKBOOK reveals the Chicago area's service companies and stores rated Best (& Worst) for quality and prices.

Consumers' Checkbook - remote users   [Available remotely]
Remote users will need to register to use this service which rates local businesses and service providers.

Demographics Now   [Available remotely]
Access a demographic report on any geography – or compare multiple geographies - for information including income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending, consumer expenditures, businesses and more.

Gale Directory Library   [Available remotely]
Gale Directory Library includes Brands and Their Companies and Encyclopedia of Associations

Legal Forms   [Available remotely]
Provides a wide selection of state-specific legal forms across popular legal areas inluding real estate, wills, pre-marital agreements, divorce, bankruptcy, landlord tenant and many others. Also includes an attorney state directory and a legal dictionary.

LexisNexis (Legal cases not available remotely)   [Available remotely]
Respected wide-ranging information source containing over 10,000 news, business, legal, and other sources; legal content only available from within library.

LexisNexis (within the library)   [Not available remotely]
Respected wide-ranging information source containing over 10,000 news, business, legal, and other sources; legal content only available from within library.

Lynda.com   [Not available remotely]
Over 2,000 online video training modules covering topics ranging from digital literacy to professional development. Available only in the Library; see a Librarian for details.

Mergent Web Reports   [Available remotely]
Mergent Web Reports offers a vast archive of corporate annual, quarterly and interim reports from over 100 countries. Users are able to access an unparalleled collection of digital images of company documents. Web Reports provides the ability to search documents by company name, region, country, document type or year of report. Call the WPL Reference desk for login instrctions.

Morningstar (In the Library)   [Not available remotely]
Rates stocks and funds. Research current or prospective holdings and see how investments fit together. Remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Morningstar (Remote Access)   [Available remotely]
Rates stocks and funds. Research current or prospective holdings and see how investments fit together. Remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Reference Books Online (Gale Virtual Ref Lib)   [Available remotely]
A one-stop resource providing federated access to encyclopedias and specialized reference tools for multidisciplinary research. Includes access to hundreds of general reference titles once available only within the library.

Reference USA Telephone listings   [Available remotely]
Contains information on over 13 million U.S. businesses ( and 1 million Canadian businesses) including sales, number of employees, and contact information. Also includes U. S. and Canadian residential listings and a "health care" search for doctors and dentists. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

S&P Net Advantage   [Available remotely]
A comprehensive source of business and investment information from Standard and Poor's offering online access to popular research products including stock reports, The Outlook, bond reports, etc.

Small Business Resources   [Available remotely]
Articles and books that are useful for small businesses.

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)   [Available remotely]
Full-text searching and retrieval of the past 3 years is a part of the Proquest service. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Weiss Ratings   [Available remotely]
Weiss provides financial strength ratings and financial planning tools covering Insurance, Banks, and Credit Unions with accurate, independent information.