pinterest-20pxgoodreads

 1242 Wilmette Ave., Wilmette, Illinois 60091  â€¢  847-256-5025

Mon - Fri: 9 am - 9 pm

Sat:  9 am - 5 pm

Sun:  1 pm - 9 pm

Home Research A-Z Databases Database Category

Encyclopedia Databases at WPL

CultureGrams   [Available remotely]
The CultureGrams World Edition is a concise reference tool created by natives and long-time residents to give you an insider’s perspective. Its information ranges from mile-high views of a nation, its society, and institutions to close-up views of communities, families, and individuals.

Encyclopedia Americana (Grolier Online)   [Available remotely]
Produced by the publishers of the print encyclopedia. Geared toward the high school - adult user, it includes signed articles, bibliographies, links to other internet resources, and images (including maps and flags). Results may be printed out or e-mailed to another location. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Encyclopedia Britannica   [Available remotely]
Encyclopedia Britannica Online offers the comprehensive and authoritative full text of the print volumes with added content (current magazines, recommended web content, multimedia, dictionary and thesaurus) with powerful finding tools, such as keyword search and browsable index, entry and subject links.

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History   [Available remotely]
This online version of the 5-volume set covers all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces -many by the foremost scholars in the field - it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to fully define in one source the cultural roots and current condition of the African-American community. Appendix material includes primary source documents and extensive statistical data. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Encyclopedia of Global Warming (Salem Press)   [Available remotely]
The Encyclopedia of Global Warming provides searchable and browsable access to the full content of the three volume text edition.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia   [Available remotely]
One of the most thorough reference works on animals ever published, Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia offers articles about animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. Starting with the simplest life forms, the lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes, in volume 1, the series progresses through the more complex classes of animals, culminating with the mammals in volumes 12–16. Volume 17 is a stand-alone cumulative index. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

History Resources Salem Press   [Available remotely]
This database contains the Salem Press publications entitled The Decades series and Musicians & Composers of the 20th Century.

Islamic Studies - Oxford U. Press   [Not available remotely]
Encompassing over 5,000 A to Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam.

Lands and Peoples (Grolier Online)   [Available remotely]
An encyclopedia of countries, cultures and current events that is geared toward students. This online version of a trusted print resource includes an electronic atlas as well as games and puzzles. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Medical Guide Magill's   [Available remotely]
The online version of Magill's Medical Guide provides searchable and browsable access to the complete contents of the 4-volume print version.

New Book of Knowledge (Grolier Online)   [Available remotely]
An encyclopedia geared toward children. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

World Almanac for Kids   [Available remotely]
Resources for homework, reports, and projects. Kids can explore grade-appropriate topics in a fun format while developing online research skills with a trusted source.

World Book Online Reference Center   [Available remotely]
The premier online reference source, containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more and also offers state-of-the art multimedia, editor-reviewed Web sites, access to additional libraries on U.S. History, Political Science and Law, Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (World Book's intermediate Spanish-language encyclopedia), the online World Book Dictionary, and comprehensive sound clip, picture and illustration archives. (Library and remote access.)