HomeResearchA-Z DatabasesDatabase Category

Newspaper and Magazine Databases at WPL

Chicago Tribune 1985 -   [Available remotely]
Compete full-text content of local and regional news from 1985 to present. Search using keywords from the article. May limit by date, section, etc. Results may be printed out or e-mailed to another location. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Chicago Tribune Historical 1849-1986   [Available remotely]
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text for 1849-1986. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

FirstSearch (call Ref Desk for login)   [Available remotely]
Several databases of academic and general interest articles as well as the OCLC network of library holdings across the country. Includes Worldcat, ABI-Inform, ArticleFirst, ERIC, GPO, Medline and much more. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number. Call the reference desk for login instructions).

Infotrac Magazine Articles   [Available remotely]
Index to general interest magazines, reference books, maps, historical images, and newspaper articles. The full-text of many of the periodical articles is available online and may be printed out or emailed to another location. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

New York Times (1980 to present)   [Available remotely]
Comprehensive digital, full text coverage back to 1980 including New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine. The NYT is considered the official U.S. newspaper of record because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences.

New York Times Historical (1851-2003)   [Available remotely]
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text for 1851-2003. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Press Display Around the World   [Available remotely]
2,000 plus newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 different languages all available on your mobile device from within the library

Proquest News and Magazines   [Available remotely]
Indexes the contents of popular magazines and Midwest area newspapers. Newspaper content is for 3 years only. The full-text of many of the articles is available to be printed locally or sent to an e-mail address. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Readers Guide to Periodical Literature 1890-1982   [Available remotely]
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Current coverage for this database includes the years 1890 through 1982.

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)   [Available remotely]
Full-text searching and retrieval of the past 3 years is a part of the Proquest service. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Wilmette Life Index   [Available remotely]
Index to the local newspaper. Some full text obituaries in the index. Coverage: News 1991-present; Obituaries 1969-2012; Local News 1989-1916; Lake Shore News 1912-1923; Wilmette Life 1923-1939. (Library and remote access.)

Wilmette Life, Wilmette Beacon, and Northshore Weekend, 2008-2014   [Not available remotely]
Available within the Library. Local newspapers, full text and searchable.

Zinio   [Available remotely]
View full color, cover-to-cover selection of popular magazines. Download to your computer or mobile device.

 

tabs s db qa

 

Go to top